Dreamy girls of the 60s and 70s…

Sometimes I think the movie actresses of the 1960s spoiled me for the real world women of the 1970s. Then again, the world of the imagination has always appealed to me more than actuality…

These are the kinds of images we were inundated with at the cinemas of the 60s…

The flirty spirit of this photo was gone from the land by 1970...

The friendly, flirty spirit of the "beach movie" was basically gone from our cinema by 1970...

Susan Denberg, well-remembered Playboy Playmate and Star Trek actress...

Susan Denberg, well-remembered Playboy Playmate and Star Trek actress...

Goldfinger left many a lad well-warped for the future...

Goldfinger left many a lad well-warped for the future...

Another Bond girl who infiltrated my psyche...

Another Bond girl who infiltrated my psyche...

These are only a few examples of the pulchritudinous talent that promised so much for the coming adulthood of the male adolescents of the 1970s. (I could do another few more posts on the subject, and I probably will.) But then everything got really serious in the 70s…with the exception of disco later in the decade, of course, which was a nice counterbalance to the gradual accumulation of pretentiousness and political correctness in our culture…

Although the iconic aspects of womanhood (and actresses’ roles) were pretty much wiped away by the advances of feminism in the 70s (that’s what happens when you get rid of pedestals), there were still a couple of performers who got our imaginations humming…

The gorgeous Jacqueline Bisset...

The gorgeous Jacqueline Bisset...

Never got around to seeing this movie, but saw plenty of photos from it...

Never got around to seeing this movie, but saw plenty of photos of Jackie in it...

She has the rare quality of looking both kind and sexy at the same time.

She has the rare quality of looking both kind and sexy at the same time.

Jennifer O’Neill also made an impression on the impressionable…

I was "anti-nostalgia" in my college years. Now, humbled in my fifties, I wonder if I would like it more.

I was "anti-nostalgia" in my college years. Now, somewhat wiser in middle age, I wonder if I would like this film more.

In my early years in New York, starting out as a scribe for the then-flourishing sex magazines of the 70s, living in a residential hotel and paying less than a hundred dollars a month in rent, I used to sit around with my equally cash-strapped friends who were aspiring in their own fields of acting and writing and music, and we’d fantasize about when we made it big (like DeNiro or Pacino, the two cultural gods of our twenties) and could get a yacht and invite “Jackie and Jennifer” to hang out with us…

Even as I write this memory, I’m chuckling…I can still see the inexpensive jug of Carlo Rossi red wine between us on the fading carpet (or maybe it was a half-gallon jug of Canadian Ace beer, a real steal at 99 cents), as we talked about how nice it would someday be with Jackie and Jennifer on the boat…

Of course, no matter how long it would take us to achieve renown and riches, I think we took it for granted that Jackie and Jennifer would still look exactly the same as when we’d first set eyes on them, and they’d be ready and waiting with their bathing suits for our invite to the cruise…

Still, I think in the end I would have preferred a midnight rendezvous with the actress who most impressed me back when I was about fourteen years old: Daniela Bianchi, the girl who seduces James Bond in From Russia with Love.

The absurdity of her running around Istanbul in her stocking feet only makes this photo more endearingly sexy...

The absurdity of her running around Istanbul in her nylon stocking feet only makes this photo more endearingly sexy...

And I never, ever forgot that black velvet choker she wore in their bedroom scene…

I can almost inhale her perfume!

I can almost inhale her perfume!

————–

I got the classic image of Connery and Bianchi from the cool site Cinema Retro. Pay them a visit! They do a great print magazine, a rarity in this age of the Internet.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hornytimetraveler.wordpress.com/2009/03/05/dreamy-girls-of-the-60s-and-70s/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Personally, I can’t even see a velvet choker without thinking about this: http://home.earthlink.net/~halloween_magenta/v-ribbon.html

  2. Miriam, that’s almost like a clever one-minute spin on Hawthorne’s “The Birthmark,” one of my favorite short stories. Thanks, I’ll have to check out the other tales at that site too.


Leave a Reply

